Prospective owner 2008 Big Horn 3055RL

DougKirby

Hi everyone, I am from and live in New Zealand, after importing a Coachmen A class in 2009 and converting it to right hand drive, I am now looking to buy a 5th wheel and store it in the US for use from time to time. For my first 5th wheel I don't want to outlay a lot while I decide if I like this type of RV or not.
I need to have an office space to keep my business running in NZ (I am a self employed engineer) and have settled on the 3055 and focused my search on that, before I travel to the US to view a few of these I would like to know if this RV has any known issues I should look out for and any interesting positives I may not be aware of. I have just emailed Heartland asking about recalls, so far I have only found one from 2008 for the Dometic fridge.
Thank you very much in advance for your assistance and advice.
Regards Doug (and Catherine so some of the above should be we).
I am exploring insurance, any advice on recommended liability cover would be appreciated, the state minimums seem to be low to inadequate based on a bit of googling I have done, finding recommended figures is proving to be difficult, thanks.
P.S. - I am ex navy, interested in; motor racing, space, science, reading, cycling/mountain biking, water sports, travel, exploring, family and meeting people - hopefully I will secure an RV and meet some of you over the coming years.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Howdy Dougkirby and welcome to this great forum.
Although the Bighorn 3055 is no longer in production it has been the top selling floor plan for many years. Very popular.
Since what you are looking for is nearly 10 years old, be sure that it has been maintained so there are no leaks.
You should get plenty of replies from current and prior owners.

Peace
Dave

danemayer

Hi DougKirby,