Radio Controlled Airplanes - Who flies them?

FiremanBill

We got to talking about this in another thread so to avoid completely hijacking that one I wanted to start one here and see who all is into flying Radio controlled aircraft.

I have been flying for a little over 10 years now. I started out in electrics, dabbled with glow for a while and now fly a mix of electric and gasoline powered models.

My smallest are some of the UMX micro's from E-Flite that we take on just about ALL our camping trips up to a 1/4 scale 9ft wingspan Super Cub.

I fly a mix of scale and "go fast, turn left" type planes. My fastest is a Seagull Models Shoestring that I have had clocked at 147.8 mph, and a Ritewing Demon at 156.25 mph.

I also like to do a lot of night flying whenever possible.

Last edited:

'Lil Guy'

An unusual one (well not for me...) At least one of my model airplanes. Most campgrounds have at least a semi decent sized field I can fly in and it is always a fun time showing them off to everyone. Last time out it rained pretty much the whole weekend so I didn't get to do any flying. :(
Congratulations on your hobby. I have a few of those things myself. Only have 2 left. A 1/4 scale Super Cub (which I want to put floats on) and a Spitfire with retracts. Got rid of all of my big planes. Hope to run into you someday and we can put them up together.

FiremanBill

Re: What item can you not camp without?

Congratulations on your hobby. I have a few of those things myself. Only have 2 left. A 1/4 scale Super Cub (which I want to put floats on) and a Spitfire with retracts. Got rid of all of my big planes. Hope to run into you someday and we can put them up together.

I have the Hangar 9 1/4 SC as well. What motor do you have on yours? I have the Evolution 33cc in mine. I only have about 40 or so planes at the moment... ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiOA5gwAIMo

Lynn1130

A fun hobby and a few of my builds. You can probably tell that I have been heavy on the warbirds.