Spring and U-Bolts Maintenance on BC

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Something does not look right here. In the first picture, I count five leafs along with a rusty u-bolt and a lot of threads showing. In the other pics, I count six leafs with shiney u-bolts. Hmm.
And Larry, if you are talking about the clamps that are aound one side of the spring pack, I have been told by a local, been in business since springs were invented outfit, that that clamp is basically there to hold the spring pack together for installation. If installed in allignment and u-bolts are properly tightened, the springs should not move. If they have moved out of allignment it is a sign of loose u-bolts. Or they may not have been installed in allignment.
I'm no expert, but that is what I have been told.

Peace
Dave

Bobby A

What 5th wheel does Bobby A have?

Tankie, let me jump in hear and answer your question, I have a 2010 3580 Big Horn 1 year old exactly and probably about 2000 miles driving on the coach. Larry was so kind to post the pics for me cause I didn't know how to post them.

Bobby A

Something does not look right here. In the first picture, I count five leafs along with a rusty u-bolt and a lot of threads showing. In the other pics, I count six leafs with shiney u-bolts. Hmm.
And Larry, if you are talking about the clamps that are aound one side of the spring pack, I have been told by a local, been in business since springs were invented outfit, that that clamp is basically there to hold the spring pack together for installation. If installed in allignment and u-bolts are properly tightened, the springs should not move. If they have moved out of allignment it is a sign of loose u-bolts. Or they may not have been installed in allignment.

Peace
Dave

Hi Dave,