Yamaha generator

Rschremp

Newbie here with a new 2016 Oakmont. Anyone have any experience with the Yamaha 3000 with 500 boost? I was told it will run everything in my rv?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jimtoo

Hi Rschremp,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

I'm sure some of our other members will jump in soon with some info for you.

Be sure and check out our Heartland Owners Club. Join us at a rally when you can and meet lots of the great folks here and make friends for a lifetime.

Enjoy the forum and your new unit.

Jim M

danemayer

Hi Rschremp,

If your Oakmont has a 50 amp plug, it's actually using two 50 amp circuits from the pedestal for a total of 100 amps, or 12,000 watts of power.

The specs on the generator say it provides 3,000 watts of power with an extra 500 watts available for a short duration boost.

So can you run everything in your trailer? Sure. But not everything at the same time. :(

If your Oakmont has only a 30 amp plug, that's 3,600 watts of power. Your generator would be able to run almost as much as you could run on shore power.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
Can you run the A/C and microwave at the same time .....no. Hair dryer and curling iron at the same time maybe. I have a 3000W getset and it struggles to run our microwave 1/2 time oven.

Gaffer

You would be better off with two 2k generators and a parallel kit. You won't need help moving or lifting the 2k gens.

Last edited:

Rschremp

The person who recommended the 2 2ks I was wondering which would be the better brand. It looks like the Yamaha 3k with boost would be sufficient even at 258 lbs??

fredwrichardson

Past New Mexico Chapter Leader
The person who recommended the 2 2ks I was wondering which would be the better brand. It looks like the Yamaha 3k with boost would be sufficient even at 258 lbs??

a