Paint flaking off rub rail

Resiemon

Has anyone seen this before. The paint started flaking off in big strip s the first month in August 2015. 3875 FB. Otherwise it has been a great rig. The top rails are nearly stripped clean on both sides. The painter was not concerned.
ff596f25f0b14a116abdad98e2f18378.jpg

RE Siemon

Last edited by a moderator:

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I'm no expert but I believe that it would be nearly impossible to make paint stick to that type of plastic.
If I were you I would replace that white strip with a black strip or a new unpainted white strip.
Either color would be less obvious than the pealing strip on there right now

Peace
Dave

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
There are two widths of that vinyl insert, 3/4" and 1", so make sure to get the right one. It's not very expensive or difficult to install. Can't believe they painted over white rather than using a molded in color product.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aandaar

I am having the same problem on my 2016. Not as bad as yours yet but it will get their.

Does anyone have a link to the colored stuff. Finding the white but I want to find a close match.

Chuck, Victoria, and Miss Callie

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
I know black and white are available. Bought the 1"white for my rig and some 1"black for our FD USAR trailer trim.

wildwolfproducts