Flickering/Diming Interior Lights

Hi,

I am new to the forum. I have a 2013 Elkridge 34QSRL. I haven't been able to find a thread that seemed to match my problem:

I notice all the 12 volt lights (when on) will randomly dim/brighten, and sometimes flicker. It is almost as if something is putting a heavy load on the system. It does this maybe several times throughout the day.

I am currently hooked up to a 50 amp service, and my battery says it is charged. I have only confirmed the charge well after the event had occurred. I don't seem to have a problem with the 120v outlets. The only thing that seems to be affected are the 12v interior lights, but in all rooms. I am not sure if it is just a wiring issue for the lights, or if there is a bigger issue with the electrical system as a whole.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to RVing, so feel free to ask for more info if I left something important out.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
It sounds like one of two things.
Could be a loose ground wire. Locate the grounding block and check all the screws holding the white wires in place.
Check the battery wires as well, they need to be clean and tight
It could also be your converter trying to charge a bad battery. Or a dying converter.
Take a voltage check on your battery while disconnected from shore power.
Also check the voltage at the battery while on shore power.

Peace
Dave

david-steph2018

Hi,

I am new to the forum. I have a 2013 Elkridge 34QSRL. I haven't been able to find a thread that seemed to match my problem:

I notice all the 12 volt lights (when on) will randomly dim/brighten, and sometimes flicker. It is almost as if something is putting a heavy load on the system. It does this maybe several times throughout the day.