Big Country - 3596RE Weight

jwg61047

I picked up my new Big Country 3596 2 weeks ago and did I get a surprise. The model we ordered from had a dry weight of 11,980 and the Brochure had a weight 12,280. I told our salesman I didn't want to go over the 12,280 and I would prefer the lighter. It said it would be somewhere between the two but not over the Brochure add. My order was exactly the same as the model we looked at nothing more added. My trailer came weighing in at 13,100. No one at the dealership or Heartland has been able to tell me why. In fact, they seemed baffled at such a difference. I haven't received an answer from Heartland yet. I've been RVing for 40 years and this is the first time I've experienced this. Has anyone else experienced this or can you tell me why there is a 1000 Lb difference.

danemayer

Hi jwg61047,

Here's one possibility that could explain some of the difference. The brochure weight doesn't include options. The model you looked at may have had options added locally that wouldn't have been represented on the sticker. If you ordered those options from the factory, they'd be included in the final weight going out the door. There also might have been design changes that added weight. For example, I've noticed that many of the kitchen counter islands have been greatly enlarged, with drawers and cabinets added. While that may not be the case on your unit, maybe you've noticed other design changes making your unit a bit different from the one on the dealer lot.

Finally, there's the remote possibility that there's a mistake on the label. A trip to a CAT Scale would give you the actual weight.

jwg61047