Big Horn prewire set up

SeattleLion

We just purchased a 3160. I want to do the satellite install. The electronics are no problem for me. I have many years of DirecTV experience. However, I have some questions about the roof install:
  1. Where are the cables under the roof covering? I know it was mentioned in another thread, but no searches will let me find it.
  2. After cutting the roof to get the Coax and controller cables out, what do you do to reseal the roof? Is there some kind of fixture to use?
  3. Winegard sells a protective aluminum plate (they have a rectangular one and one shaped like the antenna with a "runway" for the roller on the LNB); how is that installed? Do you pre-drill it so that the antenna screws go through it? Do you need to put silicone under/around it to seal it?
  4. What is the best practice for screwing into the roof? Should you use silicone in the screw hole?

As you might guess, I am concerned about both a good mechanical bond to the roof as well as avoiding any potential water incursion. It was very helpful to get the schematic for the coax routing. It accounts for two of the three pairs of connectors that are in the multi-purpose pod (can't remember the Heartland name for that). What is the third pair for? I assume one connector goes to the garage, where does the other go?

danemayer

Hi SeattleLion,

Congratulations on your new rig and welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. There was a detailed post a few weeks ago with pictures and quite a bit of detail that may answer most of your questions. I think this might be the thread.

SeattleLion

Hi SeattleLion,

Congratulations on your new rig and welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. There was a detailed post a few weeks ago with pictures and quite a bit of detail that may answer most of your questions. I think this might be the thread.

That seems to be the thread. However it doesn't answer most of my questions.

wdk450

SeattleLion: