Help needed with Dual Tire Pressure Checking

hriker

I am new to the Rving community and would like any recommendations regarding checking the tire pressure on a dual wheeled tow vehicle. I realize I need to check the TV tire pressure to remain safe. My question is how have others made it easier to access the inside dual tire's valve stem to remove the cap to check the pressure? The valve stem is short and I cannot reach it. I have considered valve extensions, but my tire guy feels they may cause more problems than they solve. So I am at a loss as to a better solution. Any help would be appreciated!

hoefler

You need a dual head gage, like the big trucks use. The are about 16" long, I have to remove my wheel covers to make it easier to access the inside dual. I tried the extensions once, broke my valve stem and I caught it before I ruined the tire.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
You will definitely need the "trucker's" gage. But, unless they've made a change, or it's only on GMC, the valve stems are gated rubber stems. You do not need to remove the cap to check or add air to them. If they're black plastic caps, with a white "ball" on the end, just press the gage or air chuck firmly to them and have at it.

I also considered valve extensions, etc., but was warned against them by the place that would have installed them, a truck tire dealer.

hriker

Thank you for the information. I did purchase a dual head gauge and it will reach the inside valve stem. But it has a cap not a gated rubber stem. I attached a pix. Is there a tool that can be used to remove and replace the cap when needed?

Attachments

• 207.jpg
    207.jpg
    616.1 KB · Views: 62

Wharton

We ended up putting on a TPMS system for the truck and trailer. Much easier solution and gives the the comfort of knowing your tire pressure all the time. Must have metal valve stems on all tires.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator