Installation of 'pass-through' for antenna coax cables.

tomn2t

I am an amateur radio operator who recently purchased a 2011 BH3410RE. I would like to install one hole through the rear wall, beneath the window, above the desktop, and in the vicinity of the ladder. I would like to install a section of PVC pipe to serve as a 'feed through' to run approximately 3 runs of antenna coax into the coach. These would provide antenna hookups for HF & VHF radio equipment and a scanner.

I want to be certain to avoid any framework and wiring in the wall so would appreciate any information and suggestions on avoiding them. I also would like information on techniques to use in drilling through the fiberglass exterior in order to avoid any damage. Thank you.

2010augusta

here is a similar thread, it might give you some ideas.

//heartlandowners.org/showthread.php/11181-Hope-you-don’t-mind-Jim-B.-–-I-borrowed-this?

tomn2t

Thanks for your quick reply Alan. That was interesting but in my case I want to take a more direct route through the rear cap.

K

karykatz

tomn2t,

Please reed advice form our production manager. I hope this helps.

I would say, center of ladder, a couple of inches below window should be safe. We have changed the framing recently but I feel if he stays closer to window rather than the counter top, he should be safe.
There is a stud about 14" from sidewall so center of ladder should miss that.
As far as drilling through glass...i would start inside, drill through panel and drill just the pilot bit through the cap and then go outside and come through. We drill these caps all day with hole-saws and have no problems.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter