New to forum presently own SOB.

3665RE

Hello

My wife and I have been RVing for 25 years. Started with a popup then on to a HY-LO now in a 39 ft 5[SUP]th[/SUP] wheel SOB.

Due to some very disappointing experiences with this SOB we are considering purchasing a new 5[SUP]th[/SUP] wheel trailer.

I have 53 years towing experience. I started towing when I was 16 working in the family business of moving buildings. The heaviest load I have ever towed was 300,000 lbs 35 ft wide 70 ft long 2-story apartment building. I have several years driving 18-wheeler tank truck delivering liquid cattle feed to ranchers.

I have numerous certifications in vehicle and aircraft operations and maintenance. I presently do consulting to audit the DOT paperwork for commercial carriers.

I have dropped out of other forums when I find a large percentage of the posters advocate deliberately exceeding the published weight limitations of the towing vehicle and or trailer because “RV’s are not subject to Federal DOT regulation”.

I am looking forward to finding safety conscious posters on this forum.

3665RE

jimtoo

Hi 3665RE,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully to the family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge if needed.

Looks like you have lots of experience in the towing area, so I'm sure you could give some helpful information to our members if needed.

The Heartland forum is just a big nice family, although not perfect. We are here to help one another and make friends, not enemies.

The Heartland RVs company is the best. They do monitor some of the forum areas and actually take part when needed and listen to our suggestions as to improvements and designs.

Ask your questions about the unit you are looking for and hopefully you will join us.

Jim M

kakampers

Past Heartland Ambassador