Newbie to 5th wheel trailer

swburbguy

My wife and I have been camping for 2 yrs. We presently own a Jayco 25RKS and are looking to upgrade. I'm impressed with the insulation on the BIG Horn trailers. I'm looking for a few tips from the gang. If you were to buy another 5th wheel is there anything you would do different as in options you would and would not get? Any help would be appreciated. Dave and Sandy

Invizatu

Senior Road Warriors
Welcome to the forum!
We recently moved up from a Heartland North Trail 21fbs (bumper pull) to a new Bighorn 3570rs with several bells and whistles. At this point we are very happy with it the way it is, we added as options the following: 6 point hydraulic leveling / dual pane windows / 2 low profile a/cs with heat pumps / hidden safe / Goodyear G614 tires / bike hitch / fireplace / 4 door refrigerator / convection oven / mor-ryde hitch / theater seating / 8,000 pound axles with upgraded brakes / 2 dinette folding chairs and of course the 2 forced option packages being the king of the mountain package and the bighorn premier package. At this point we are not missing any of the other options that we did not buy and like having the ones we did buy. The tire upgrade is a must IMHO.

jimtoo

Hi Dave and Sandy,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

Also if there is something you want as an option, don't take your dealers word for it not being available. You might call Heartland Customer service and ask for brand manager of which ever unit your looking at and they may be able to help you.

Enjoy the forum.

Jim M

Invizatu

Senior Road Warriors
Yes I was wondering if the whisper quiet ac units are available .

Only on the Landmarks.

The low profile a/c with heat pumps on the Bighorn are the dometic penguin II ... Not so whisper quiet! But they do cool it down nice.

Mizmary