Questions about not buying local and non-Heartland dealerships performing work.

Natesi

I’m totally new to RVing and planning to buy a new Big Horn 3670RL this spring. Word on the street is that my local Big Horn dealership isn’t the type to deal – and they want at least $15Gs more than what I know I can buy it for elsewhere. SO… when the time comes I will give them a chance, but it seems unlikely I will purchase from them.

So, couple questions:

FIRST:
I’ve seen posts on here stating that local Heartland dealerships have refused service to customers that did not buy from them. My question is, was it only warranty work they refused to do, or all work? I just don’t see how a place could stay in business if they refused to service anyone’s RV besides those that were bought from them.

Granted, if a Heartland dealership refused to fix my trailer in-warranty, I seriously doubt I would give such an unethical business the benefit of my hard earned money for out of warranty repairs.

But anyhoo…

SECOND:
From what I understand, you can take your Heartland ANYWHERE for IN-WARRANTY repair, right? The only caveat is that the repair shop has to get approval from Heartland first?

How does that work?? Heartland works-out a reasonable hourly rate for the repair, ships the replacement part, and cuts the shop a check for labor? But before all that happens the approval process has to take place, right? How long does that take?

Is it hard to find dealerships that don’t sell Heartland products to do in-warranty repairs??

Since I can have anyone repair it, does that mean I can hire a business to fix it on my premises – assuming they accept the hourly repair rate negotiated with Heartland and don’t mind WAITING for their check? I’m assuming they get reimbursed after the repair. Anyone know that hourly rate that is offered to the repair shops? Is it reasonable? Is it the same rate offered everywhere in the country?

Much thanks,

-Nathan

Last edited:

Larryheadhunter