Water Quality

Gary521

Over the years, I have observed how some folks treat the potable water hose and water spigot in the RV park. I have watched people stick their sewer hose directly over the spigot to wash it out. I have watched folks drag the potable water hose through the gravel and mud. I have seen them use the potable hose to attach to the black tank flush etc etc. Now, I pull into the park and want to attach my water hose to that spigot - I don't think so. I want to carry a sanitizing spray with me to sanitize the spigot and my own water line. I know that a bleach solution maybe the best at doing this but a bleach solution has an effective shelf life of maybe two days. This becomes not practical if you move around a lot. Doing some research ( I used to work in the medical industry - doing research ), I found what restaurants use to sanitize equipment and counters. It is a solution called "QUAT" or quaternary immonia solution. The shelf life of quat solution is several months ( up to 12 ). This sounds like a great way to go. So I have used the quat solution for over three years now. To get the stuff, you can purchase a concentrate on-line or in resturant supply stores. For the concentrate, you mix about a tablespoon to a gallon of water. This is great but the quat concentrrate has a shelf life too and that is about three years. You ain't going to be using a lot of concentrate in three years. There is another way. You can purchase quat tablets at the same places. A couple of tablets in a gallon of water and off you go. Look at that idiot over there with the spray bottle and disposable gloves attaching on the sewer hose. What a sissy! Ever get sick on the road and wonder where you caught it? Maybe there is an answer in this. The sanitizing process with a spray bottle takes all of about 15 seconds.Even when I wrap up my hose getting ready to leave, I don't let it touch the ground, if I can help it. Forget the 5 second rule here. There are critters running arou