Whoops!!!!

danemayer

1 or 2 inches sounds like a lot to me too. I don't want 3000# of pin weight dropping even that much. I raise them just enough so there's no weight on them - maybe 1/4" off the ground.

And yes, on the Hensley, you have to verify the jaws are closed, and that the release arm has moved to the locked position.

PUG

Pug
Being an x trucker, I have never just hooked up and took off without testing the lockup. Back it in, set the lock, pull the landing gear up enough to get the weight off but not to much, and test it by backing into it again, and forward, and back and forward again. Should be good then huh?

Being I am getting old and sometimes prone to screwing up, I decided I needed to put another check upon myself. I was looking around seeing if anyone makes anything that might give me a little more confidence I won't loose my happy home. I found a few that I didn't really like and ran into one that I did and was really pretty economical. Here is the link to it.
http://www.butchsservices.com/5601.html I have just installed it and tested it and it looks pretty dumb and senile proof.

traveler44

After hearing the guys at the first rally we attended, in 09, talk about somebody dropping their 5er out of the hitch I bought and installed the Blue Ox bed saver on mine. It requires an extra step when hitching because you have to raise the pin over it and back down to get the pin in position to hitch up. I didn't trust the bed saver to hold all of that weight if I needed it so I tested it by raising the landing gear a little and dropping the pin weight on to it. It held the pin weight well. Otherwise I was going to add an extra brace from the bottom of the bed saver to the bed of the truck. It sure gives me some extra piece of mind. I still do the pull test though just to make sure I'm hitched properly. Tom

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member