A 5th-wheel "What is . . . this?" list!

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...
OK . . . I'm new to the 5th-wheel family (only four days into it), but not to owning travel trailers.

And I'm trying to figure out all of these new 5th-wheel phrases and such, so I need some kind of list of 5th-wheel terminology!

I keep reading about the 'UDC' and for the life of me can't put three words together that UDC could stand for.

I'm sure it is easy and will be one of those 'What the DOH!' moments . . .

And many other letters and phrases tossed around here that I need to know so I don't look as stupid as I really am . . . :p

What a minute . . . did I just say that about myself??? :cool:

Anywayz . . . I know what the king pin is (have almost hit my head on it several times already) . . .

So, what is all of the terminology I need to know to be a real 5th-wheeler???? :confused:

I'm sure there are other newbies out there wondering the same things . . .

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
UDC = Universal Docking Center. On most models that's where the cable, water, black tank flush and some other connections are located. Depending on the model, it may also contain the pulls for the holding tank and satellite TV connectors.

Oregon_Camper

UDC = Universal Docking Center. Funny thing is when I was reading all the literature on the Bighorn, I thought the Universal Docking Center was where I would dock my Smartphone. Even had the tech at the dealership looking for the location where I would "dock" my phone.

Live and learn...
:D

JohnD

UDC = Universal Docking Center. Funny thing is when I was reading all the literature on the Bighorn, I thought the Universal Docking Center was where I would dock my Smartphone. Even had the tech at the dealership looking for the location where I would "dock" my phone.

Live and learn...
:D

Well . . . thats better than what I came up with . . .

"Under 'de camper!" :rolleyes:

Thats all I could come up with for UDC . . . :eek: