5th Wheel Hitch Recommendations?

gotlieb

Looking for any recommendations on 5th wheel hitches. B&W, Reese, Curt, Hijacker? For the standard 16K hitch, which one would be the best buy?

Also, I have a 2011 Silverado 2500HD crew cab with the 6.5 foot box. One hitch dealer recommended a slider hitch. Is that really needed for the 6.5 foot box? The new Heartlands describe an 88 degree turning radius and the dealer said you can get 90 degrees out of a slider hitch. Are the extra 2 degrees that important?

As background, I have no prior experience driving a 5er. Current camper (hopefully delivered soon) is a 2012 Greystone 29BL.

Thanks!

Sandie

We have a Husky and have never had any issues with it. It is a slider but we have never needed to use it on our old fiver or the Heartland.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
gotlieb, I feel all the basic 16K hitches are comparable. I would stay away from the type hitch that a bar slides in behind the pin. They tend to be very loose and you'll feel quite a bit of movement while towing/ On the other side of that problem, it is a very secure method of locking the pin. I have a Reese 16K with the 4 way tilt.
Slider? My opinion is not to get one. Extra money and not really needed with the Heartland cap design. Happy shopping!

dfowler

When I first purchased my 5th wheel (Heartland Sundance), I had a "regular" hitch, a Reese 1500. The first time out, on a sharp turn while backing, the Sundance hit the back of my truck, by the rear window, putting a good sized dent in the truck. I have a 2006 Dodge 2500 with a 6.5 ft. bed. The 88 degree turn advertised by the manufacturer did not work for me. I then had a Pull Rite slider hitch installed. I have had no problems since. As for the movement while towing, I have not experienced that. I have not had to worry about turning since it was installed.

n2snow2