Considering purchasing a Gateway 3650 41 foot 5th wheel but do I need a bigger truck?

apmeg

I'm very new to this so I'm really hoping some of you who have been doing this for a while can give me some advice. I'm looking to purchase either a Gateway 3650 or Elkridge 37Ulta 5th wheel for my family and I to travel cross country - it's something we've talked about doing for a long time but I want to make sure I have the right vehicle. Both campers are 41 feet long and weigh around 13,000 pounds empty - they each have a GVWR of around 15,500 pounds which is right at the upper limit for my 2010 Ford F350 Diesel (Single Rear Wheel)- technically I should be able to tow either trailer but, having not done this before, am I taking a risk by loading that truck with that much weight traveling from Virginia to California to include Tennessee, Colorado, Montana, Oregon, and New Mexico for not only this trip but from now on? Would it be better to get a Duel Rear Wheel vehicle instead and, if so, those of you who own DRWs, what are they like to drive under normal conditions to work etc. when not hauling the camper? I guess while I don't necessarily want to drive a DRW just to get around town, I would rather do that then spend our family trips struggling to pull the camper. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

danemayer

Hi apmeg,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. There's lots of useful information here along with a great bunch of friendly and helpful people.

You'll probably get varying opinions. We have a 2011 GMC 3500 Crewcab longbed 4x4 SRW and pull a 16,000# Landmark all over the country, including the Colorado mountains. It does a great job. If Fords are as good as Ford owners usually claim, you should be fine. But I suspect shortbeds might not be as stable as a longbed. Of course a dually will be more stable and will usually have both greater vertical load capacity and greater towing capacity.