Hitch too low

skozub01

We got a WD hitch with our heartland wilderness but it doesn’t fit the F350 we have so I used my Gen Y Hitch as a drop and installed a 2” sleeve to accommodate the WD hitch. The unit feels like it sits low but I’ve checked and the nose of the RV is level.

I’m new to towing. The dealer said it was fine when we drove off but is it really? What advice or input do you have on this configuration.

793921bf20d0dbf22c41bf088d7381f4.jpg
bf36273d0bed56bfdcd5a4e9a7e29149.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaveC6

From the photos it does look low. Here’s what I would do. Hook everything up including the spring bars. Then measure the distance of the trailer frame to the ground front and rear (at the bottom of the I-Beam, not the at trailer tongue). So somewhere in the front, say under the front storage and again at the back near the back bumper. Prefect would be identical, say 23.0” front, 23.0” rear. I was thinking your next jump up on the hitch is probably a 2.5”, but your actual WD hitch can be raised in about 1” or 1.5” increments. So you can raise the ball from the hitch itself in smaller increments. So if the measurements are 21.0” front and 25.0” rear you can still fine tune the hitch itself.

Silverado23

Iowa Chapter Leaders
Is the hitch on your 350 2 1/2 or 3 inch receiver?

without the geny installed. You may be able to get a 2 1/2 to 2 inch sleeve adapter and then your hitch may be the right height, the WD head looks like it could be dropped up to a couple of inches without using the Gen-y and have it close to where you need it.

Measuring as stated earlier will help get you the information before making adjustments.

It also may be possible to buy a specific drop shank for the wd head such as this.

You can get them in 2 1/2" also but they get heavy. The advantage is that you take the slop out that causes noise and bouncing, etc.

Examples
https://www.etrailer.com/Accessories-and-Parts/Curt/C17123.html
C17123_01_0001_500.jpg