Looking for a new job

Ladiver

After my day today, I am ready to walk. Have any of you just said enough is enough and left? I work in IT and and am ready to leave California. It would be tough to leave friends and family, but I have to assume the job market would be better outside of California.

Any recommendations for where to move? Where is there a decent job market that is close to water (oceans or lakes)? The weather has to be good for gardening, plus the wife hates the cold.

Anyone here looking for IT staff?

Jeff

danemayer

I think McKinney, TX is a pretty hot job market. No ocean, but there are some large lakes.

And if you don't mind a bit of a commute, I think there's a nice house in Terrell that you can probably get a good deal on. Talk to TravelTiger.

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
Virginia has a pretty decent IT environment, especially if you have a clearance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TravelTiger

Founding Texas-West Chapter Leaders-Retired
Lol, thanks Dan! Yes our house is on the market. Dallas/Ft Worth has a wealth of IT positions. Terrell is commutable to DFW, 30 mi from downtown Dallas. Lots of Lakes in the area.

Only thing is the weather.... Lol!

JanAndBill

After my day today, I am ready to walk. Have any of you just said enough is enough and left? I work in IT and and am ready to leave California. It would be tough to leave friends and family, but I have to assume the job market would be better outside of California.

Any recommendations for where to move? Where is there a decent job market that is close to water (oceans or lakes)? The weather has to be good for gardening, plus the wife hates the cold.

Jeff

Huntsville, AL has been a stable IT job market. Government contracting, and now private sector manufacturing is heating up the area. Mild climate. About 7 hrs to the gulf, and 4 hours to the mountains, large lakes nearby. Cost of living still reasonable.

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...