New Bighorn 3670RL with Airsafe Hitch

WilmanJim

We will be picking up our 2010 Bighorn 3670RL on the 29th of July and have a few questions.
I have been towing Travel Trailers for the last 40 years and will be new to 5th wheels.
We are having a 25K Airsafe hitch put in our Truck, a 2006 Ford F-350 6.0 CC Dually with the Tow Boss package, and was wondering if anyone could tell me if the Airsafe hitch will set below the bed rails so I could put a tonneau cover on the truck or will I have to remove the hitch.

Also, what bed rail height should I be looking at.

We are looking forward to getting our Bighorn. We are getting rid of a 2003 Cedar Creek 36RLBS TT which has been a great RV as we have just under 100,000 towing miles on it in the 7 years we have had it. We winter in the San Diego area every year. Sure beats Ohio winters.
We hope the Bighorn will give us great service too.
Safe Travels to All.
Jim and Wilma

Last edited:

truknutt

Committed Member
...We are having a 25K Airsafe hitch put in our Truck, a 2006 Ford F-350 6.0 CC Dually with the Tow Boss package, and was wondering if anyone could tell me if the Airsafe hitch will set below the bed rails so I could put a tonneau cover on the truck or will I have to remove the hitch.

Also, what bed rail height should I be looking at.

Jim and Wilma

While I don't have this hitch, I see on the Air Safe Website that the hitch is height adjustable from 14" to 21" .

I have both a 2003 F-350 2WD & a 2009 F-450 4WD and both have a rail height of 19.75" measured from the top of the floor ridges to the top of the plastic box rail protectors (across the wheel wells). I don't kow what style/brand of tonneau you plan to use. I use a Bak Flip hard tonneau on each of the trucks which actually sits slightly below the rail top so it appears flush and our Cyclone rides nice and level with plenty of turning room.

I think you should be fine.

Hope this helps.

P.S. I now see this is your first post soooo "WELCOME to the forum!"