Slide-Out Alignment?

mhays

I’m a newbie here and to owning a 5th-wheel but not new to RV’s and most things mechanical. We have an Arctic Fox truck camper and just bought a new 2009 (it never sold until us) 3795 Cyclone. So far so good… It’s quite a difference going from a 9ft 9in camper to a 38+ft rig. Wow – look at all that room! The dogs love it!

We have only owned this for a week and have not taken it out yet. I notice that the bedroom slide seems to be retracting a little too far when closed, because the wall is deflected inwards. And, the main room slide-out is not opening all the way when extended. I have read through all the slide-out postings…

My question is this; is there a direct relationship between the two? In other words, could the over-close situation of the bedroom be causing the under-opening problem if the main slide? If yes, one adjustment might fix both, and, adjusting both might make things worse.

I’m going to take it to the dealer, but, I’d like to also understand what is going on.

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
The slides are individually adjustable. Attached is a pdf of the hydraulic slide manual.

Attachments

• 5th Wheel Hydraulic Slideout Landing Gear-Web.pdf
    2.8 MB · Views: 277

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
Yeah, they can do that. It's not a big deal, but if it's still under warranty, take it back to the dealer for adjustment. We used our rig the first summer with the main slide a little off, but it didn't hurt it and the dealer adjusted it at the end of the season.

When the slides are extended, you can run your fingers behind the fascia trim and feel if the seal is tight. If you can slip your fingers in between the seal and the wall, it needs adjusting. Or looking at the fascia, you see it's at a slight angle, it need adjustment.

xcflyn