PDA

View Full Version : New Tow Vehicle advice requested

recumbent615
04-27-2017, 02:29 PM
All,

I have been towing my Heartland Cyclone 3010 since 2011 with my Chevy 2500HD short-bed. the little Red truck is approaching 300K and is starting to worry me some. So I have started the search for a replacement. But having only owned one truck in my life and reading what I can I still would like some first hand advise from the people I know are using a truck the way I do. So my questions are as follows:

1) Those of you who are towing with a 1 ton with single Wheel drive; If you had to do over would you opt for a dually
?

2) Those of you who are towing with a 1 ton dually
; if you had to do it over again would you opt for a SWD?

The Chevy Line has two rear end gears ( I am sure Dodge does too ) Wondering about fuel usage:

3) if you have the 4.10 Rear End:

3a) what do you get for MPG when towing
3b) what do you get for MPG not towing

4) if you have the 3.73 Rear End:

4a) what do you get for MPG when towing
4b) what do you get for MPG not towing

My plans are to get a 1 ton ( Chevy or Dodge ) late model Diesel and I am on the fence on the rear end and if I should go for the dually since it will also be a daily driver.

in the lovely state of Ma, 1 one ton is a commercial vehicle regardless of the rear axle so there is no extra cost except for maintenance and tolls

Thanks for your advice and insight. Happy Camping.

Kevin

'Lil Guy'
04-27-2017, 02:36 PM
The drw is your best option because of the increased payload....I' have the 3:73 RE on my 2015 Ram and get 16 to 17 MPG in town and on the road. I don't drive it that easy,either. I also get over 10 towing our BH.

With the 4:10 RE, you might get better towing but less when not towing. Not sure on that but seems like the RE would make a difference on the highway.

Hope this helps.

farside291
04-27-2017, 02:39 PM